I have been buzy

Yes it has been a long time since I bloged and the reson for it is a happy one. My daughter was born june 29th. So running a home with a new born and a 2 year old is full work. But many interesting things have happened. Ubuntu 12.10 has been released but so far I haven’t upgraded. Why you ask? Well Eee I just haven’t seen any resaon to so far. The difference between 12.04 and .10 seam minor.

But however I have noticed something strange going on with Libre Office 3.6 which I manually upgraded on Asus running 12.04. It seams when I open a .xml excel document, did a few changes and added comments to explain my changes and after saving the comments disappear! Very strange. Maybe I just should have stayed with 3.5.

The other day I was talking to a big company about Free Software and one of the things which always get’s mentioned is compatibility issues between  LibreOffice and Microsoft Office. And I get ghost story’s about documents which people were recording changes (track changes) and adding comments and then púff, gone like my money in the special stockmarked saving account. Educating people about LibreOffice is clearly the most important thing to do when company’s migrate to Free Software.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

